Sewing for Victory!

 

I have decided to join the Sew For Victory challenge. I stumbled onto to the Lucky Lucille blog.  And that’s how I foundvictory out about the challenge.
The goal is to sew an outfit from the 1940’s.
I think…NO…I KNOW  I can!!  My Grammy Helen was an accomplished seamstress and taught me many tricks. Grammy sewed for San Francisco’s upper crust. Many of mgrammyy outfits in the 70’s were made with scraps from these ladies. 😉

In fact, I sew on my other Grammy’s 1960 Kenmore !!

Though I will say I was NEVER a fan of polyester!

My Grammy learned to sew very, very young. And later as a war bride, she learned to make do with whatever was at hand. Including flour sacks.

It’s interesting that off and on over the years I have used the skills I didn’t really realize I had, to earn a living!

So in memory of her, I am doing the Sew for Victory Challenge.  I have not quite decided on a pattern yet, though I have an idea of what I want. The 1940’s were a great time for ladies fashions. Very flattering and feminine.

Lucky for me, I happen to posses a number of vintage 1940’s patterns… (Shhhhh… don’t tell!…taken from Grammy’s ‘stash’)  Ranging from kidspattern3pattern1 clothes and aprons to evening wear….

Keep an eye out for updates on my outfit!

~Katy~

 

Posted on March 29, 2014, in Buffalo Gals Mercantile, country living, Crafts, farm, memories, retro wife, Uncategorized, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

SaveYour.Town

~life, love and humor on the farm

Paula.Jensen

Creating passion for community leadership and development

Grotto on the Go

Big Adventure ~ Tiny Space

daisiesandbluebellsblog

we are an online Children's Boutique selling funky, vintage style and retro kids clothes

A Girl & Her Chickens

A dive into all things feathered and farming...

Daily Hike

Just the daily things...

knotty is nice

Loving the knotty pine in our vintage homes

Kate's Country Living

~life, love and humor on the farm

The Misters Mrs

A Southern Fried Housewife

